Blog 21: Practical Writing: Movie Review

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug is an action-packed, horror-filled, comedic, fantasy  and adventure film that was magnificently adapted from author J. R. R. Tolkien’s novel, The Hobbit. I give this extraordinary movie a 10/10 rating. I love every single thing about this wonderful adaptation. I love the plot, the setting,  and  the colorful cast of characters. I believe the casting director of this project made the right choices when they chose the actors to portray the characters. I believe Benedict Cumberbatch was   a perfect choice for the role of Smaug due to the commanding voice he has; I think Martin Freeman’s depiction of the young Bilbo Baggins was just brilliantly done with his mix of modesty, honor and ingenuity. I like the choreography of the amazing fight scenes with Orlando Bloom, who plays Legolas, and Evangeline  Lilly, who  portrays Tauriel, a new character who does not  even appear in the novel. I love all the new aspects that were added to the story such as the characters Tauriel and Radagast, I admire the special effects. For example,the fire Smaug breathes out, and the lighting like an aura that encircles Tauriel when she is concocting a medicinal recipe and uttering Elfen magical phrases. The locations they used for the film were breathtaking. New Zealand was the perfect backdrop for films which are set in Middle-Earth. I wont forget about the music either. I undoubtedly believe this story is in good hands. Peter Jackson, with his grasp of the Tolkien universe, is the right director for the job.

Standard

Leave a Reply

